About
When accessing a message in the Secure Reader, a recipient may occasionally encounter an error during verification. One such error page reads "Finish Sign In in the same browser" and details that "The link only works where you started." This can occur for a variety of reasons. Most commonly, users encounter this error when switching machines, switching browsers, or clearing the browser cache during the verification process. This is because Virtru verification emails are for one-time use, have expirations, and are both browser and device-specific.
Steps to Troubleshoot
If the above error is encountered, we suggest restarting the verification process from scratch and manually proceeding through the process:
- Clear your browser cache and cookies
- Delete all verification emails from verify@virtru.com
- Return to the original secure message, and click Unlock Message
- Move through the verification process until you get to the "Check your inbox" page that indicates the verification email has been sent. Leave this tab open. Alternatively, Google and Microsoft users can sign in with their provider.
- Head back to your mailbox, and open the verification email. Do not left-click the link. Instead, right-click Verify Me, and select Copy Hyperlink or Copy Link Address, depending on your machine. Or, copy the one-time code
- Manually paste and open this link or enter this one-time code into the same tab left open in Step 4
If you continue to encounter errors, contact support. Please include both the Unlock Message and Verify Me links when reaching out.