The results of forwarding a Virtru email can be a little different depending on the way the email was forwarded and how it is read. The different scenarios and their outcomes are listed below:
Secure message is forwarded without Virtru enabled:
Without Virtru encryption enabled while forwarding, the new recipient cannot be added to the existing secure policy and will not have access to the content. The new recipient needs to be added to the secure policy so that the original recipient can monitor to whom the email was forwarded, and revoke access if necessary.
Secure message is forwarded with Virtru enabled to a non-Virtru using recipient:
If a secure message is forwarded - with Virtru encryption enabled - to a recipient who reads the email in our Secure Reader, the new recipient can only view the latest entry in the thread. The Secure Reader does not support full threads and will instead show the message "This email chain has been secured by Virtru."
Secure message is forwarded with Virtru enabled to another Virtru user:
If both the forwarding user and the new recipient use Virtru, the new recipient is added to the existing secure policy and will have access to the entire forwarded thread. The original sender will be able to see that this message has been forwarded by checking the forwarding tree in the Virtru Dashboard, allowing the revocation of their message.
If the original sender has enabled Virtru's Disable Forwarding feature, no new recipients will have access to the email if forwarded. The email itself can still be forwarded, but the new recipients will be denied access to the decryption keys, thus blocking their ability to view the content of the email.