When forwarding a Virtru-secured email, the recipient experience will vary depending on how the email was forwarded and how the message is accessed. In this article, we break down several common forwarding scenarios and their outcomes.
If the original sender has enabled Virtru's Disable Forwarding feature, no new recipients will have access to the forwarded email. The email itself can still be forwarded, but the new recipients will be denied access.
Scenarios and Outcomes
Secure message forwarded with Virtru enabled
Forwarding a message with Virtru enabled will allow the new recipient to access the entire thread.
Non-Virtru users read secure emails in Virtru's Secure Reader. If you forward a secure message - with Virtru encryption enabled - to a recipient who reads the email in the Secure Reader, the new recipient can view the previous entry in the thread by selecting Decrypt Previous Message button found above the secure message.
If you forward a secure message - with Virtru encryption enabled - to a recipient who is also a Virtru user, the new recipient will see the entire forwarded thread.
In both scenarios, the original sender will be able to see that this message has been forwarded by checking the forwarding tree in the Virtru Control Center, allowing the revocation of their message.
Secure message forwarded without Virtru enabled
If you receive a Virtru secure email and forward it without Virtru enabled, the new recipient will not have access to the secure content. This is because Virtru cannot add the new recipient as an authorized user to the secure policy (which allows the original sender to manage access) unless Virtru is enabled.
Forwarded Emails with Attachments
The same logic outlined above applies to any attachments in forwarded emails and threads. Here is a quick breakdown:
- Forwarding with Virtru enabled: The user will be able to access the attachments as they have access to the entire forwarded thread.
- Forwarding without Virtru enabled: Recipients will not have access to secure attachment as they will not have access to the email.