When replying to a secure Virtru message, you will find that the original thread is not visible in your reply draft. This behavior purposeful and, instead, you will see the following text where the thread would be: "This is a secure message chain, protected by Virtru."
The thread is hidden to protect the contents of the original secure message. This ensures that users cannot turn Virtru off in a reply or forward and send the original message unencrypted. However, this behavior is only in place until the new message is sent. Once sent, authorized users with a Virtru plugin will be able to access the full thread. When viewing the chain, the older secure message(s) may automatically unfurl or nest within a "Show secure message", "Show last secure message", or "Display embedded secure content" button.
While we do prioritize protecting secure messages, we also understand that viewing the contents of the original thread may be critical in drafting a follow-up. As such, there are some tips below that should help view secure threads when replying or forwarding with Virtru.
Gmail plugin users
There are two options for viewing original threads in Gmail:
1. Open the original message in a second window and arrange the windows side-by-side.
2. Use Gmail Conversation View, which will nest threads together in Gmail and display the prior message above your draft.
Outlook add-in users
For Outlook users, the best workaround is to open the original message in a second window and arrange the windows side-by-side.